Research Guides


Biographical sources for Archbishops of Canterbury 

from 1052 to the present day

December 2000, revised January 2006

Introduction

This is a list of all the archbishops of Canterbury between 1052 and the present day, providing brief information about each one. It is by no means intended to be comprehensive. Information provided includes dates of birth and death (where known), dates of periods in office, places of burial, coats of arms, locations of wills (where ascertainable from biographical sources), details of images of the archbishops, and sources of biographical information. Brief bibliographies for most archbishops are included in The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed. (Oxford, 2005). Biographies are not otherwise noted below. For printed holdings held at Lambeth, consult the online catalogue. Lambeth Palace Library also holds archiepiscopal registers for all archbishops, excluding Meopham and Stratford, from Pecham to Davidson. For further information please contact Lambeth Palace Library (London, SE1 7JU, UK; fax +44 (0)20 7928 7932).

Reproductions of the portraits of the archbishops at Lambeth Palace are available through Lambeth Palace Library, and photocopies of black and white prints or photographs of some archbishops are also available through the Library's reprographics services.  Where no portrait or print exists, references to tomb effigies giving a likeness of the archbishop have been noted.

There is also a guide to confirmations of Archbishops post-Reformation

Abbreviations used

Cantuar: E. Carpenter and A. Hastings, Cantuar: The Archbishops in their Office, 3rd edn. (London, 1997)
DNB: Dictionary of National Biography, ed. H.C.G.Matthew and B.Harrison, 60 vols. (Oxford, 2004), and Dictionary of National Biography, ed. L. Stephen and S. Lee, 63 vols. (London, 1885-1900)
Hook’s Lives: W.F. Hook, Lives of the Archbishops of Canterbury, 12 vols. (London, 1860-76).
ODCC: Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed., ed. F. L. Cross and E. A. Livingstone (Oxford, 2005)
PCC: Prerogative Court of Canterbury. Wills proved in this court can be read at The Family Records Centre (1 Myddleton Street, London, EC1R 1UW, UK)
SVW: Sede Vacante Wills, ed. C. E. Woodruff, Kent Records 3 (Canterbury, 1914)
Wilson: C. Wilson, ‘The Medieval Monuments’ in A History of Canterbury Cathedral, ed. P. Collinson, N. Ramsey and M. Sparks (Oxford, 1995)

11th century - 12th century - 13th century - 14th century
15th century - 16th century - 17th century - 18th century
19th century - 20th century
Back to research guides
Archbishops from 597 to the Norman Conquest


11th century

Stigand

Archbishop: 1052-70
Died: 1072
Burial place: Winchester Cathedral, Hants.
Biography: Cantuar pp. 40, 44; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 1, pp. 506-32; ODCC
 

Lanfranc

Archbishop: 1070-89
Born: c.1005
Died: 1089
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Per saltire azure and gules, a cross bottony on a globe or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 44-5, 57-8, 106-8; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 73-168; ODCC
 

Anselm

Archbishop: 1093-1109
Born: 1033
Died: 1109
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Argent gutty de sang, a cross sable
Biography: Cantuar, p. 45, 58-60, 108-10; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 169-276; ODCC
 

Go to the top
12th century

Ralph d’Escures

Archbishop: 1114-22
Died: 1122
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Sable, a patriarchal cross issuant from the base argent
Biography: Cantuar, p. 45; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 277-301
 

William de Corbeil

Archbishop: 1123-36
Died: 1136
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Azure, a bend wavy and in sinister chief a cross couped argent
Biography: Cantuar, p. 46; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 302-20
 

Theobold of Bec

Archbishop: 1139-61
Died: 1161
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in A. Saltman, Theobold, Archbishop of Canterbury (London, 1956), pp. 254-7
Arms: Or, two bars azure and a chief indented gules
Biography: Cantuar, p. 60; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 321-53; ODCC
 

Thomas Becket

Archbishop: 1162-70
Born: c.1118
Died: 1170
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Images: Eighteenth-century prints at Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, three choughs sable beaked and legged gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 46-7, 60-64, 110-11; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 354-507; ODCC
 

Richard of Dover

Archbishop: 1174-84
Died: 1184
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent 
Arms: Azure, three mullets between two bends argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 47, 64; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 508-38
 

Baldwin

Archbishop: 1184-90
Died: 1190
Burial place: Tyre, Lebanon
Arms: Gules, two bends and a bordure argent
Biography: Cantuar, p. 48; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 539-73; ODCC
 

Hubert Walter

Archbishop: 1193-1205
Died: 1205
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Quarterly azure and argent, a cross or between in the first and fourth quarters five mullets argent and in the second and third an eagle displayed sable
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 48-9, 64-7, 117-8; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 584-656; ODCC
 

Go to the top
13th century

Stephen Langton

Archbishop: 1207-28
Born: c.1150-5
Died: 1228
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Per pale azure and gules, a bend or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 50, 67-8, 118-9; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 2, pp. 657-761; ODCC
 

Richard Grant alias Wethershed

Archbishop: 1229-31
Died: 1231
Burial place: Umbria, Italy
Arms: Ermine, on a bend azure three pierced mullets or
Biography: Cantuar, p. 52; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 103-27
 

Edmund of Abingdon

Archbishop: 1234-40
Born: c.1170-5
Died: 1240
Burial place: Cistercian Abbey at Pontigny, France
Arms: Gules, a cross patonce or between four sea-pies sable winged argent
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 128-227; ODCC
 

Boniface of Savoy

Archbishop: 1245-70
Died: 1270
Burial place: Royal abbey of Hautecombe, Savoy, France
Arms: Gules, a cross argent
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 228-303; ODCC
 

Robert Kilwardby

Archbishop: 1273-78
Died: 1279
Burial place: Dominican convent at Viterbo, Italy
Arms: Azure, on a bend gules three escallops or
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 304-26; ODCC
 

John Pecham

Archbishop: 1279-92
Born: c.1225
Died: 1292
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Images: Wilson pp. 459-64
Arms: Ermine, a chief quarterly or and gules
Biography: Cantuar, p. 52; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 327-67; ODCC
 

Robert Winchelsey

Archbishop: 1294-1313
Born: c.1240s
Died: 1313
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in Registrum Roberti Winchelsey Cantuariensis Archiepiscopi, ed. R. Graham, Canterbury and York Society 51-2, (Oxford, 1952-56), v. 2, pp. 1340-5; contemporary copy in Canterbury Cathedral Archives
Arms: Argent, a fess ermine voided gules and in chief three cinquefoils vert
Biography: Cantuar, p. 69; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 368-454; ODCC
 

Go to the top
14th century

Walter Reynolds

Archbishop: 1313-27
Died: 1327
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW pp. 67-72; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Images: Wilson p. 465
Arms: Azure, on a cross between the symbols of the four Evangelists or five lions rampant gules
Biography: Cantuar, p. 53; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 455-91
 

Simon Meopham (or Mepeham)

Archbishop: 1328-33
Died: 1333
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Azure, three bends or
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 3, pp. 492-518
 

John Stratford

Archbishop: 1333-48
Died: 1348
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW pp. 72-6; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Images: Wilson pp. 467-70
Arms: Or, a fess between three roundels gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 70-1; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 1-79; ODCC
 

Thomas Bradwardine

Archbishop: 1349
Born: c. 1295
Died: 1349
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Barry ermine and ermines
Biography: Cantuar, p. 53; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 80-110; ODCC
 

Simon Islip

Archbishop: 1349-66
Died: 1366
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Gules, a cross moline or
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 111-62
 

Simon Langham

Archbishop: 1366-68
Died: 1376
Burial place: Carthusian Church at Avignon, France, moved to Westminster Abbey, London, 1379
Will: Printed in R. Widmore, An  History of the Church of St Peter, Westminster (London, 1751), pp. 184-91
Arms: Or, a chevron embattled between three trefoils gules
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 163-220
 

William Whittlesey

Archbishop: 1368-74
Died: 1374
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW p. 80; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Arms: Or, a saltire azure
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 221-43
 

Simon Sudbury

Archbishop: 1375-81
Died: 1381
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW p. 81; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Images: Wilson pp. 471-2
Arms: Argent, on a cross azure a letter M corned or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 71-2; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 244-314; ODCC
 

William Courtenay

Archbishop: 1381-96
Born: c.1342
Died: 1396
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in Archaeologia Cantiana 23 (1898) pp. 58-67; English translation in J. Dahmus, William Courtenay (University Park, Pennsylvania, and London, 1966) pp. 265-76; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Images: Wilson pp. 472-5
Arms: Or, three roundels gules and a label azure charged on each point with a mitre or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 53-4, 72-4; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 315-98; ODCC
 

Thomas Arundel

Archbishop: 1397, 1399-1414
Born: 1353
Died: 1414
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW pp. 81-5; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly within a bordure engrailed argent: 1 and 4, gules, a lion rampant or; 2 and 3, Chequy or and azure
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 74-5; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 399-528; ODCC

Roger Walden

Archbishop: 1397-99
Died: 1406
Burial place: St Bartholomew the Great, Smithfield, London
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 74-5; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 4, pp. 529-35; ODCC
 

Go to the top
15th century

Thomas Arundel

See above
 

Henry Chichele

Archbishop: 1414-43
Born: c.1362
Died: 1443
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, a chevron between three cinquefoils gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 75, 120-2; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 1-129; ODCC
 

John Stafford

Archbishop: 1443-52
Died: 1452
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Or, a chevron gules within a bordure engrailed sable and on the chevron a mitre or for difference
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 130-87
 

John Kempe

Archbishop: 1452-54
Born: c.1380
Died: 1454
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Arms: Gules, three garbs within a bordure engrailed or
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 188-267; ODCC
 

Thomas Bourgchier (or Bourchier)

Archbishop: 1454-86
Born: c.1404
Died: 1486
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in Archaeologia Cantiana 24 (1900), pp. 247-52; partial English translation in Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 385-6; original in Canterbury Cathedral Archives 
Arms: Argent, a cross engrailed gules between four water-bougets sable
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 75-6; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 268-386; ODCC
 

John Morton

Archbishop: 1486-1500
Born: c.1420
Died: 1500
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent 
Will: Printed in SVW pp. 85-93; original PCC 
Images: Wilson pp. 485-6
Arms: Quarterly gules and ermine, in the first and fourth quarters a goat’s head erased argent
Biography: Cantuar, p. 76; DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 387-499; R. I. Woodhouse, The Life of John Morton, Archbishop of Canterbury (London, 1895)
 

Go to the top
16th century

Henry Deane

Archbishop: 1501-03
Died: 1503
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in SVW pp. 93-100; original PCC 
Arms: Argent, on a chevron gules between three choughs proper three crosiers erect or
Biography: DNB; Hook’s Lives v. 5, pp. 500-24
 

William Warham

Archbishop: 1503-32
Born: c.1540
Died: 1532
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Printed in Wills from Doctors’ Commons, ed. J. G. Nichols and J. Bruce, Camden Society 83 (London, 1863), pp. 21-7; original PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, a fess or between in a chief a goat’s head erased and in base three escallops argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 124-32; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 1, pp. 155-421; ODCC
 

Thomas Cranmer

Archbishop: 1533-1553
Born: 1489
Died: 1556
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a chevron azure between three pelicans sable three cinquefoils or (sometimes shown as three cranes)
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 133-42; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 1, pp. 422-509, n.s. v. 2, pp. 1-419; ODCC
 

Reginald Pole

Archbishop: 1556-58
Born: 1500
Died: 1558
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent 
Will: Printed in Wills from Doctors’ Commons, ed. J. G. Nichols and J. Bruce, Camden Society 83 (London, 1863), pp. 48-53; original PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Per pale sable and or, a saltire engrailed countercharged
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 143-6; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 3, pp. 1-446; ODCC
 

Matthew Parker

Archbishop: 1559-75
Born: 1504
Died: 1575
Burial place: Lambeth Palace Chapel, Lambeth, London
Will: Copy printed in J. Strype, The Life and Acts of Matthew Parker, 3 vols. (London, 1711), v. 3, pp. 333-40; original PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, on a chevron between three keys argent three estoiles gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 147-56; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 4, pp. 1-592; ODCC
 

Edmund Grindal

Archbishop: 1576-83
Born: c.1519
Died: 1583
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: Printed in J. Strype, History of the Life and Acts of the Most Reverend Father in God, Edmund Grindal, (London, 1710), Appendix pp. 103-4; original PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly argent and azure, a cross quarterly ermines and or between four doves collared counterchanged
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 157-62; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 5, pp. 1-120; ODCC
 

John Whitgift

Archbishop: 1583-1604
Born: c.1532
Died: 1604
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a cross coupled flory at the ends azure four bezants (gold roundels)
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 163-70; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 5, pp. 121-89; ODCC
 

Go to the top
17th century

Richard Bancroft

Archbishop: 1604-10
Born: 1544
Died: 1610
Burial place: St Mary, Lambeth, London
Will: PCC; probate copy at Lambeth Palace Library (CM XII/29)
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Or, a bend between six crosses azure three garbs or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 176-80; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 5, pp. 190-243; ODCC
 

George Abbot

Archbishop: 1611-33
Born: 1562
Died: 1633
Burial place: Holy Trinity, Guildford, Surrey
Will: Printed in The Life of Dr George Abbot … from the Biographica Britannica, (Guildford, 1777), pp. 58-72
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, a chevron between three pears or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 181-9; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 5, pp. 224-307; ODCC
 

William Laud

Archbishop: 1633-45
Born: 1573
Died: 1645
Burial place: All Hallows, Barking, London, moved to St John’s College, Oxford, 1663
Will: Printed in Original Letters … Relating to the Benefactions of William Laud, ed. J. Bruce (London, 1841), pp. 61-9
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Sable, on a chevron between three estoiles or three crosses formy fitchy gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 190-9; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 6, pp. 1-393; ODCC
 

William Juxon

Archbishop: 1660-3
Born: 1582
Died: 1663
Burial place: St John’s College, Oxford
Will: PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Or, a cross gules between four Moor’s heads affronty couped at the shoulders wreathed gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 204-6; DNB; Hook’s Lives n.s. v. 6, pp. 394-436; ODCC
 

Gilbert Sheldon

Archbishop: 1663-77
Born: 1598
Died: 1677
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: Extract (preamble) printed in M. Burrows, Worthies of All Souls (London, 1874), p. 250; complete copy in Lambeth Palace Library MS. 577, ff. 66v.-69r.; original PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a chevron gules three sheldrakes argent and on a canton gules a rose or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 203-12; DNB; ODCC
 

William Sancroft

Archbishop: 1678-1690
Born: 1617
Died: 1693
Burial place: St Peter and St Paul, Fressingfield, Suffolk
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a chevron between three crosses formy gules three doves argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 213-22; DNB; ODCC
 

John Tillotson

Archbishop: 1691-94
Born: 1630
Died: 1694
Burial place: St Lawrence Jewry, London
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Azure, a bend cotised between two garbs or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 223-8; DNB; ODCC
 

Thomas Tenison

Archbishop: 1695-1715
Born: 1636
Died: 1715
Burial place: St Mary, Lambeth, London
Will: Printed in Memoirs of the Life and Times of the Most Reverend Father in God, Dr Thomas Tennison (London, 1716?), pp. 113-30; original PCC
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, three leopard’s faces or jessant de lys azure and over all a bend engrailed argent voided azure
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 229-40; DNB; ODCC
 

Go to the top
18th century

William Wake

Archbishop: 1716-37
Born: 1657
Died: 1737
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: PCC
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Or, two bars and in chief three roundels gules and on the fess point a trefoil vert for difference
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 247, 249, 251; DNB; ODCC
 

John Potter

Archbishop: 1737-47
Born: c.1674
Died: 1747
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: PCC
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Sable, a fess ermine between three cinquefoils argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 247, 249-50, 251-2; DNB; ODCC
 

Thomas Herring

Archbishop: 1747-57
Born: 1693
Died: 1757
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: PCC; probate copy at Lambeth Palace Library (CM 38/5)
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules crusilly and three herrings haurient argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 253-4; DNB; ODCC
 

Matthew Hutton

Archbishop: 1757-58
Born: 1693
Died: 1758
Burial place: St John the Baptist, Croydon, Surrey
Will: PCC
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, on a fess or between three cushions lozengeways ermine tasselled or three fleurs-de-lys gules
Biography: Cantuar, p. 254; DNB
 

Thomas Secker

Archbishop: 1758-68
Born: 1693
Died: 1768
Burial place: Between Lambeth Palace and St Mary, Lambeth, London
Will: PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Gules, a bend engrailed between two bull’s heads caboshed or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 247, 250, 255; DNB; ODCC
 

Frederick Cornwallis

Archbishop: 1768-83
Born: 1713
Died: 1783
Burial place: St Mary, Lambeth, London
Will: PCC 
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Sable gutty d’eau, on a fess argent three choughs proper
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 247-8, 255-6; DNB
 

John Moore

Archbishop: 1783-1805
Born: 1730
Died: 1805
Burial place: St Mary, Lambeth, London
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a chevron sable between three Moor’s heads in profile habited gules collared vert two swords hilted or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 248, 256; DNB
 

Go to the top
19th century

Charles Manners Sutton

Archbishop: 1805-28
Born: 1755
Died: 1828
Burial place: St Mary the Blessed Virgin, Addington, Surrey
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly: 1 and 4, Argent, a canton sable; 2 and 3, Or, two bars azure and a chief quarterly azure two fleurs-de-lys or and gules a lion passant gardant or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 248, 257-8; DNB; ODCC
 

William Howley

Archbishop: 1828-48
Born: 1766
Died: 1848
Burial place: St Mary the Blessed Virgin, Addington, Surrey
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Azure, an eagle displayed erminois charged on the breast with a cross patonce gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 290-9; DNB; ODCC; J. R. Garrard, William Howley (1766-1848). Bishop of London, 1813-28; Archbishop of Canterbury, 1828-48 (Unpublished DPhil thesis, Univ. of Oxford, 1992, available at Lambeth Palace Library)
 

John Bird Sumner

Archbishop: 1848-62
Born: 1780
Died: 1862
Burial place: St Mary the Blessed Virgin, Addington, Surrey
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Ermine, two chevrons gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 300-11; DNB; ODCC
 

Charles Thomas Longley

Archbishop: 1862-8
Born: 1794
Died: 1868
Burial place: St Mary the Blessed Virgin, Addington, Surrey
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly and a mullet for difference: 1 and 4, Quarterly per fess indented or and azure; 2 and 3, Argent, on a chevron sable three bezants
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 312-33; DNB; ODCC
 

Archibald Campbell Tait

Archbishop: 1868-82
Born: 1811
Died: 1882
Burial place: St Mary the Blessed Virgin, Addington, Surrey
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly: 1 and 4, Argent, a saltire engrailed and a chief invected gules; 2 and 3, Argent, two ravens suspended by the neck from an arrow sable
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 334-59; DNB; ODCC
 

Edward White Benson

Archbishop: 1883-96
Born: 1829
Died: 1896
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Will: Summarized in G. Palmer and N. Lloyd, Father of the Bensons: The Life of Edward White Benson (Harpenden, 1998), pp. 218-9
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, three trefoils slipped sable between four bendlets gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 360-87; DNB; ODCC
 

Frederick Temple

Archbishop: 1896-1902
Born: 1821
Died: 1902
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly: 1 and 4, Or, an eagle displayed sable; 2 and 3, Argent, two bars sable each charged with three martlets or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 388-405; DNB; ODCC
 

Go to the top
20th century

Randall Thomas Davidson

Archbishop: 1903-28
Born: 1848
Died: 1930
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Azure, on a chevron or between two estoiles in chief and a pheon in base argent a fleur-de-lys gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 408-44; DNB 1922-1930, ed. J. R. H. Weaver (London, 1937); ODCC
 

Cosmo Gordon Lang

Archbishop: 1928-42
Born: 1864
Died: 1945
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent (ashes)
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly per fess indented argent and sable, in the first quarter an open book proper leaved gules in the last quarter two dock leaves vert
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 445-65; DNB 1941-1950, ed. L. G. Wickham Legg and E. T. Williams (London, 1959); ODCC
 

William Temple

Archbishop: 1942-44
Born: 1881
Died: 1944
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent (ashes)
Images: Reproduction of portraits at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Quarterly: 1 and 4, Or, an eagle displayed sable; 2 and 3, Argent, two bars sable each charged with three martlets or
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 446-86; DNB 1941-1950, ed. L. G. Wickham Legg and E. T. Williams (London, 1959); ODCC
 

Geoffrey Francis Fisher

Archbishop: 1945-61
Born: 1887
Died: 1972
Burial place: St Andrew, Trent, Dorset
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, a fess wavy between three fleurs-de-lys sable
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 487-513; DNB 1971-1980, ed. Lord Blake and C. S. Nicholls (Oxford, 1986); ODCC
 

Arthur Michael Ramsey

Archbishop: 1961-74
Born: 1904
Died: 1988
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent (ashes)
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Ramsey bore no personal coat of arms as Archbishop
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 524-31; DNB 1986-1990, ed. C. S. Nicholls (Oxford, 1996); ODCC
 

Frederick Donald Coggan

Archbishop: 1974-80
Born: 1909
Died: 2000
Burial place: Canterbury Cathedral, Kent (ashes)
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a cross quarterly azure and gules between four crosses formy fitchy sable a rose argent barbed and seeded proper and ensigned by a mitre argent garnished or. Coggan adopted these on his elevation to the peerage in 1980.
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 531-6; M. Pawley, Donald Coggan: Servant of Christ (London, 1987)
 

Robert Alexander Kennedy Runcie

Archbishop: 1980-91
Born: 1921
Died: 2000
Burial place: St Alban’s Cathedral, Hertfordshire
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Argent, on a fess sable between three roses gules barbed and seeded proper three crosses patonce argent
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 536-45; M. Duggan, Runcie: The Making of an Archbishop (London, 1983); D.L.Edwards and P.Smith eds., Robert Runcie, a Portrait by his Friends (London, 1990); A. Hastings, Robert Runcie (London, 1991); J. Mantle, Archbishop (London, 1991); H. Carpenter, Robert Runcie: The Reluctant Archbishop (London, 1996); S.Platten ed., Runcie on Reflection (Norwich, 2002).
 

George Leonard Carey

Archbishop: 1991-2002 
Born: 1935
Images: Reproduction of portrait at Lambeth Palace available from Lambeth Palace Library
Arms: Ermine on a bend sable between two boar’s heads couped close azure tusked or langued gules three plates on each a tresquela sable a chief azure theron a lion passant ermine armed and langued gules
Biography: Cantuar, pp. 546-60; G.L.Carey, Know the Truth: A Memoir (London, 2004)
 

Rowan Douglas Williams 

Archbishop: 2002-
Born: 1950
Arms: Per pale gules and azure a chevron ermine between three bezants each charged with a lion passant, that is dexter chief azure, that is sinister chief gules and that is babe per pale azure and gules  

Website: www.archbishopofcanterbury.org
Biography: R.Shortt, Rowan Williams: an Introduction (London, 2003). 

Go to the top