|
Sources for British and Irish Local
History at Lambeth Palace Library
Introduction
This page is intended as a brief
guide to the holdings of Lambeth Palace Library which are of particular interest
to local historians, specifically those engaged in self-directed or life-long
learning projects. It is not intended to be exhaustive.
In addition to the manuscript
and archival sources described below, the Library has an extensive collection
of printed sources including standard reference works, county, diocesan
and parish histories and guides, early printed books and contemporary prints.
Details can be obtained from the online
catalogue or specific guidance obtained by writing to
the Library.
Information relevant to local
historians may also be found in the other
guides to sources on this website.
Before you start
To get maximum benefit from
your visit to Lambeth Palace Library, we suggest that you first explore
the resources offered by the local studies library and/or record office
for the county or town in which you are interested. Further details are
available from the
National
Register of Archives, maintained by the
National Archives. Basic sources which should
be available locally include:
The Victoria County History.
Founded in 1899, the V.C.H. aimed to produce an historical encyclopaedia
of England, by county, hundred and parish. The project is still ongoing
and is now managed by the University of London through the Institute of
Historical Research. Further details are available from the
Victoria
County History, which also provides a link to a number of other sites
of interest to the local historian.
The
Survey of London is an ongoing project begun in 1894 and now undertaken
by English Heritage. It is a detailed and well-illustrated reference work
on urban and architectural history, published in the form of area studies
of individual parishes.
Local history as a subject
has been popular since the sixteenth century and many of the early works
are still essential sources. From the nineteenth century onwards, local
history and record societies have been founded, which specialize in publishing
works of local historical interest. Lambeth Palace Library does contain
a number of such works, though most should be available locally. For further
information you may find it helpful to consult the following books:
J.P. Anderson, The
Book of British Topography: a classified catalogue of the topographical
works in the British Museum relating to Great Britain and Ireland (London,
1881; reprinted 1976).
Royal Historical Society,
Texts and calendars, E.L.C. Mullins (2 vols.) Gives full titles of publications
of local and national societies to 1982.
N.B.L.Pevsner, Buildings of England series
English county histories:
a guide, ed. C.R.J. Currie and C.P. Lewis, 1994.
The Oxford University Press
bibliographies of British history include sections on local history.
The
Vision of Britain
website and the GENUKI
website might also be of interest.
How this guide is arranged
Lambeth Palace Library has
a vast range of material which is potentially of interest to local historians.
Some resources have a wide geographical coverage, others are specific to
a single place. To help you find the sources of greatest value to your
research, this guide has been arranged topographically, by county (England
only) or country (Wales, Scotland and Ireland). Each county section contains
a list of sources of potential interest. Please note that this list is
for guidance to potential sources which might otherwise be overlooked.
It will not contain all material held by Lambeth Palace Library relating
to the county in question. For further information about specific sources,
including details of finding aids, please click on the links to our detailed
holdings. Use your browser's "back" button to return to this Guide.
The detailed holdings descriptions will not give information on the specific
contents of any particular county. As most of our material dates from before
county boundary changes in 1974, old county names have been used throughout,
with place names and county based on Bartholomew's Gazetteer 9th edn. (Edinburgh,
n.d.).
You should be aware that
Church of England records (other than parish records) are normally created
and held at diocesan level. The diocesan record office is often the local
county record office, though further details may be obtained from Crockford's
Clerical Directory or the
National Register of Archives, maintained by the
National Archives. It
should, however, be noted that diocesan boundaries have been subject to
many changes, especially at the Reformation and during the nineteenth and
twentieth centuries. It is therefore vital to check the records for the
diocese in which any parish was situated at the point of time in which
the researcher is interested. Records may also have been transferred to
any subsequent diocese(s). The history of the diocesan and other boundaries
with reference to individual parishes and townships may be traced in F.A.
Youngs, Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Royal
Historical Society Guides and Handbooks, vol. 1, Southern England (London,
1980) and vol. 2, Northern England (London, 1991).
The lists
are intended for guidance only and are not exhaustive. Some collections with
material of local interest have not been noted for each county. The
Archbishops' Papers for example
include considerable relevant material and Papal Documents deal mainly with
individual monastic houses. Sources have been arranged by county but could also
have been listed by city and other non-county jurisdictions, including the
Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. The printed collections of histories,
guides and prints should always be consulted; the catalogue is available
online. You are very welcome to contact
the Library for further guidance on specific localities.
Click on the appropriate county or country
for a list of relevant archival sources held at Lambeth Palace Library.
Bedfordshire
- Berkshire - Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
-
Cheshire - Cornwall -
Cumberland Derbyshire
- Devon - Dorset - Durham
- Essex
Gloucestershire
- Hampshire - Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
- Huntingdonshire - Kent
Lancashire
- Leicestershire - Lincolnshire
London and
Middlesex - Norfolk
Northamptonshire
- Northumberland - Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
- Rutland - Shropshire - Somerset
Staffordshire
-
Suffolk - Surrey - Sussex
Warwickshire
- Westmorland - Wiltshire
Worcestershire
-
Yorkshire
Wales
- Ireland - Scotland
Bedfordshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate
Documents Includes a rental of the
estates of the prebend of Bedford Major, 1459-87 (Estate Documents 225).
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Berkshire
Manuscripts:
Includes a return for the
schools in the diocese of Salisbury by John Fisher, Bishop of Salisbury.
Arranged by county and parish, with tabulated information about endowed,
charity and Sunday schools, 1808 (MS 1732).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes records relating
to the peculiar of Chipping Farringdon, 1632-72 (Ff 254).
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Buckinghamshire
Manuscripts:
Includes valuations of Waddesdon
rectory, 1756 and 1771-7 (MS 1722).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a parish register
for Dorney, 1696-1726 (Ff 296).
Temporalities and Estate Documents Includes records relating
to Boarstall, Brill and Wotton Underwood.
Commonwealth
Records
London
visitation returns
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Cambridgeshire
Manuscripts:
Includes papers of William
Lloyd (1637-1710) as bishop of Peterborough, including visitation returns
and arbitration papers on a dispute concerning the French Church at Thorney,
1664-84 (MS 3897).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a rate book for
Melbourn, 1839 (Ff 58).
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records of the
estates of the bishops of Ely.
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Cheshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Cornwall
Manuscripts:
Includes the Launceston
Cartulary, fifteenth century, comprising copies of mainly fourteenth and
fifteenth-century documents (MS 719).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches:
Includes churchwardens'
accounts for Minster, 1756-88 (Ff 47) and churchwarden's accounts for St.
Stephens, nr. Launceston, 1729-50 (Ff 35).
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Cumberland
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Derbyshire
Manuscripts:
Includes a report on schools
in Derbyshire by the Rev. John Allen, Inspector of Schools, to the Committee
of Council on Education, 1841, on 59 schools inspected (MS 1799). The Shrewsbury
and Talbot papers
contain some material on the Derbyshire estates of the Earls of Shrewsbury
(MSS 694-710 and 3192-3206).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes deeds relating
to Dronfield tithes, 1588-1723 (Ff 197-205) and churchwardens' accounts
for Sandiacre, Derbyshire, 1816-41 (Ff 59).
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Devon
Manuscripts:
Includes an extra-illustrated
copy of J.N. Dalton, Collegiate Church of Ottery St. Mary, MSS 1612-13
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a list of deeds,
1727, copy of order for seating, 1637, certificate of parishioners, 1769
and churchwardens' accounts for Ashburton, 1615-1703 (Ff 192-3; Ff 225
and Ff 299); printed report on the episcopal visitation of Exeter cathedral,
1874 and drawings of the roof bosses, 1876 (Ff 66-7); list of Easter dues
and tithes paid for Martin, 1575-1614 (Ff 271) and accounts for Poghill,
1792-1710 (Ff 250)
Temporalities and Estate
Documents
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Dorset
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Durham
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Essex
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes an assignment of
conveyance for Frowick Farm, Chiche St. Osyth, 1734 (Ff 236)
Temporalities and Estate
Documents
Peculiars (location;
vicar
general records)
Commonwealth
Records
London
visitation returns
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Gloucestershire
Manuscripts:
Papers relating to Longford's
School, Minchinhampton, 1941-90 (MSS 3699-3706); deeds relating to properties
held by the Hale family of Alderley and others, including Frampton Cotterell,
Kingswood and the manor of Rangeworthy.
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate Documents Includes records of the
estates of the bishops of Bath and Wells and the prior and convent of Worcester
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Hampshire
Manuscripts:
Includes bailiff's accounts
for estates at Alton, Holybourne and Worldham, 1745-61, (MS 1778)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes an abstract of
title to the manor of Bicton, Fordingbridge, 1561-1739 (Ff 196)
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records of the
estates of the bishops of Bath and Wells and the bishops of Winchester
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Herefordshire
Manuscripts:
The Shrewsbury
and Talbot papers
contain some material on the Herefordshire estates of the Earls of Shrewsbury
(MSS 694-710 and 3192-3206)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes churchwardens'
and overseers' accounts for Ewyas Harold, 1700-12 (Ff 15)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Hertfordshire
Manuscripts:
Includes indenture between
Henry VIII and Sir Richard Page relating to property formerly held by the
nunnery of St. Giles-in-the-Wood, Flamstead, 1538 (MS 4299); newspapers
cuttings and printed papers on the destruction by fire and rebuilding of
All Saint's church, Hertford, 1892-1906 (MS 1966)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a parish register
for North Mimms, 1592-1627 (Ff 1)
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records for Ashwell,
1330 (Estate Documents 212) and Tring manor, 1414-15 (Estate Documents
1075-6)
Visitation
returns
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Huntingdonshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Kent
Manuscripts:
The manuscript holdings
of Lambeth Palace Library are particularly rich for Kent and this list
can only give a selection of relevant records. They include:
papers on Trinity Hospital
Croydon (MS. 275); Sevenoaks town papers (MS 672); Sir John Parker's memorandum
book, sixteenth-century (MS 737); Archbishop Secker's visitations of the
diocese of Canterbury, 1751 (MS 1134); the Cartulary of the See of Canterbury,
thirteenth and fourteenth-century (MS 1212); papers of Sir Roger Twysden,
2nd bt. (1597-1672) of Royden Hall, East Peckham, including papers on Kent
county administration (MSS 1389-94). See Kent Archaeological Society, Kent
Records X, ed. G. Scott Thomson. Also the Kent collections of Nicholas
Battely (d.1704), Vicar of Bekesbourne and Rector of Ivechurch, (MS 1250);
reports on schools in the diocese and archdeaconry of Canterbury, 1885,
(MS 3208, ff.61-70); papers on Blackheath chapel, 1697-1705 (MS 3220); records
of the hospital of St. John the Baptist, Northgate Canterbury, 1560-1687
(MS 1355); transcript of records by Charles Sandys (1786-1859), antiquary
and solicitor of Canterbury relating to the liberties and boundaries of
Canterbury (MSS.1225-6); the Cartulary of Dover Priory, 1372 (MS 241);
records of the hospital of St. Nicholas, Harbledown (MSS 1131-2, 1169 and1355);
notes on All Hallows, Hoo by Leland Lewis Duncan (1862-1923) (MS 1395);
tithes and fees for the parish of Hunton, by Theophilus Higgons, rector,
(c.1578-1659), (MS1637); a history of Saltwood parish church, 1963 (MS 1821);
farming accounts for an estate at Sharsted, 1851-2 (MS 1601)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate
Documents
Peculiars (location;
vicar
general records)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Visitation
Returns
Lancashire
Manuscripts:
Records of the Rt. Rev.
Eric Treacy (1929-76) on the parish of St. Mary Edge Hill, Liverpool and
the Shrewsbury School Mission at Liverpool, 1929-53 (MSS 3567, ff.1-15v
and 3574, ff.1-74)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Commonwealth
Records
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records for Blackburn,
Rochdale, Thornley, Wheatley and Whalley
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Leicestershire
Manuscripts:
Includes a valuation of
Kibworth parish 18th-century (MS 1722)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a rate book for
All Saints, Leicester, 1708-9 (Ff 16)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Lincolnshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
London
and Middlesex
Manuscripts:
The manuscript holdings
of Lambeth Palace Library are particularly rich for London and Middlesex
and this list can only give a selection of relevant records. They include:
A catalogue of the inhabitants
of several parishes in London, relating to the London tithe dispute, 1638
(MSS 272-3); monumental inscriptions from London churches (MS 1485); tithe
assessments after the Great Fire (MS 1701); book of certificates of transfers
of remains from the churchyard of St. Michael, Crooked Lane, (MS 1717);
Queen Anne churches (MSS 2690-2750) report on a public garden adjoining Fulham Palace, Fulham, 1994 (MS 3208,
ff.97-103); papers on chambers in Lincoln's Inn (MS 3131); newspaper cuttings
on Church House, Westminster, 1886-1930, (MSS 3173-8); churchwarden's accounts
and minutes of vestry meetings for the parish of Holy Trinity Minories,
1566-1686 (MS 3390); register of the Dutch Church in London, 1615-42 (MS
3586); papers of the Rev. St. John Beverley Groser (1890-1966) on the Catholic
Crusade, unemployment and political activities in the East End of London,
1924-55 (MS 3562)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a grant by Elizabeth
I of lands (including in St. Botolph, Aldgate), 1593 (Ff 148); deeds for
St. Botolph, Aldgate, 1613-58 (Ff 150-2); rate book for All Hallows, Barking,
1730 (Ff 20); rate book for Chelsea, 1751 (Ff 36); rate book for St. Andrew,
Holborn, 1780 (Ff 42); rate books for St. Faith, London, 1753-5 (Ff 37-9);
deeds relating to properties in White Hart Lane, Tottenham, 1726 and 176
(Ff 194 and Ff 218); deeds relating to tenements in St. Giles in the Fields,
Westminster, 1688-1707 (Ff 175-85); deeds relating to land in Whitechapel,
1683-1732 (Ff 206-12)
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records for Harrow,
1507-10 (Estate Documents 477-8)
Peculiars (location;
vicar
general records)
Commonwealth
Records
Fulham
papers
London
visitation returns
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Norfolk
Manuscripts:
Includes a survey of church
goods in the hundreds of Blofield and Walsham, 1549, MS 1924; Ingham Roll,
(MS 2078).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a rate book for
St. Margaret, King's Lynn, 1839 (Ff 57); churchwardens' accounts, 1697-1735
and churchwardens' expenses, 1732-3 for St. Michael at Thorne, Norwich,
(Ff 23 and Ff282); rate books and accounts for St. Paul and St. James,
Norwich, 1737-42 (Ff 24-6)
Temporalities and Estate Documents
Includes records of the
properties of the prior and convent of St. Benet at Holme and of Drayton
in Taverham.
Vicar General:
Includes estate records
of Bishop Hayter
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Northamptonshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches:
Includes a copy of a terrier
for Crick, 1696 (Ff 238); cartulary of Fineshade abbey, 14th century (Ff
291) and a grant by Elizabeth I of lands (including in Greens Norton),
1593 (Ff 148)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Northumberland
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Nottinghamshire
Manuscripts:
The Shrewsbury
and Talbot papers
contain some material on the Nottinghamshire estates of the Earls of Shrewsbury
(MSS 694-710 and 3192-3206).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Oxfordshire
Manuscripts:
Includes an account of the
charity, day and Sunday schools in the diocese of Oxford, arranged by parish.
Includes information on how the schools are supported, what subjects are
taught, numbers of pupils, population of the parish and whether there are
schools for Dissenters, 1808 (MS 1731).
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Rutland
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches:
Includes a churchwarden's
book for Shipton under Wychwood, 1554-1696 (Ff 12)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Shropshire
Manuscripts:
The Shrewsbury
and Talbot papers
contain some material on the Shropshire estates of the Earls of Shrewsbury
(MSS 694-710 and 3192-3206)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate Documents:
Includes records of Stoke
St. Milborough
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Somerset
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches:
Includes chapelwardens'
accounts for St. Mary's Walcot, 1734-1801 and marriage licences, 1812-19
(Ff 65)
Temporalities and Estate Documents:
Includes records of the
estates of the bishops of Bath and Wells and the bishops of Winchester
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Staffordshire
Manuscripts:
Includes papers of James
Riddell (1794-1878), rector of Hanbury, with accounts of Hanbury vicarage,
1837-60 (MS 4322)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a release of ground
in Stafford, 1703 (Ff 158); a rate book for Tamworth, 1861-2 (Ff 64) and
overseers' accounts for Ware, 1656-99 (Ff 13)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Suffolk
Manuscripts:
Papers on Melford Hospital
(MS. 671); papers of William Lloyd (1637-1710) as Bishop of Norwich, including
papers on a dispute over use of funds at Sakeford Almshouse, Woodbridge,
1688 (MS 3898, items 12-14)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a rate book for
Dalham (Ff 1679-1720); churchwardens' and overseers' accounts, 1693-1741
and deeds relating to St. Margaret, Ipswich, 1596-1698 (Ff 27-9 and 154-74)
Temporalities
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Surrey
Manuscripts:
The manuscript holdings
of Lambeth Palace Library are particularly rich for Surrey and this list
can only give a selection of relevant records. They include watercolours
of the grounds of Addington Park (MS 1403); Andrew Coltee Ducarel's history
of Croydon, 1755 (MSS 958 and 1165); papers on, 1724-60 and a set of statutes
of Dulwich College, 1626 (MSS 1118 and 1254); monumental inscriptions from
London churches (MS 1485); a survey of parish churches and services, 1908-14
(MSS 2023-5); statutes and collections on Guildford Hospital (MS
1354 and 1410-14); Andrew Coltee Ducarel's history of Lambeth Palace, 1758
(MS 1163); papers on Lambeth Palace and parish, (MS 1726); accounts for
Stangate estate, Lambeth, 1826 (MS 1779); a perambulation of the parish
of Lambeth, 1811 (MS 1785); papers on the Lambeth enclosure, 1808-12 (MS
1786); indenture between Henry VIII and Sir Richard Page, relating to Page's
estate at West Molesey, 1538 (MS 4299)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Includes a churchwardens'
book for Chertsey, 1691-1724 (Ff 18)
Temporalities and Estate
Documents
Peculiars (location;
vicar
general records)
Commonwealth
Records
London
visitation returns
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Sussex
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches:
Rate books for Brighton,
1847 (Ff 61-2)
Temporalities and Estate Documents: Includes records of Eartham,
Portslade and Upwatham.
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Warwickshire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Westmorland
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Wiltshire
Manuscripts:
Includes a return for the
schools in the diocese of Salisbury by John Fisher, Bishop of Salisbury.
Arranged by county and parish, with tabulated information about endowed,
charity and Sunday schools, 1808 (MS 1732). Also a survey of timber in
Blackland Wood and notes on sales of timber, 1816-17 (MS 1595) and churchwardens'
accounts for Dinton and Teffont Magna, 1653 (MS 3152, ff.86-7)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Worcestershire
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate Documents: Includes a court roll for
Bredon, 1406 (Estate Documents 284)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Yorkshire
Manuscripts:
Includes accounts and rentals
of Brafferton manor, 1695-1705 (MSS 1097-8); the Shrewsbury
and Talbot papers
contain some material on the Yorkshire estates of the Earls of Shrewsbury,
including the manor of Sheffield (MSS 694-710 and 3192-3206); papers and
correspondence of Eric Treacy (1929-76) as Bishop of Wakefield, including
papers on the collieries and Wakefield Prison, 1955-79 (MS 3575)
Archbishops'
registers and Act Books
Carte
Miscellanee
Court
of Arches
Temporalities and Estate Documents:
Includes a record of the
manor of Farmanby, 1590 (Estate Documents 448)
Vicar
General
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Wales
The Library has a number
of sources for the ecclesiastical and political history of Wales; only
those particularly relevant to local history are highlighted here.
Manuscripts:
Includes information about
sequestered livings, mainly in Wales, 1649-62 (MS 1027); papers of William
Lloyd (1637-1710) as bishop of Llandaff (MS 3896)
Carte
Miscellanee:
Includes correspondence
and papers on the Council of the Marches, 1570-93 (Carte Miscellanee I/84-111)
Court
of Arches:
Includes account books of
Thomas Smith for estates in Cardiganshire, 1803-17 (Ff 51-4d); churchwardens'
accounts and assessments for Guildsfield, Montgomeryshire, 1726-45 (Ff
31-2); churchwardens' book of rates and vestry minutes for Mynwere, Pembrokeshire,
1835-59 (Ff 63); foundation charter by John de Grey of a college for regular
priests in St. Peter’s church, Ruthin, 1310 (Ff 146); licences from Aninais,
bishop of Bangor to John de Grey to found the college, 1310 (Ff 147); grant
by Elizabeth I of lands (including in Ruthin), 1593 (Ff 148); inspeximus
by James I of a grant of Henry VII of the lordship of Ruthin, 1605 (Ff
149)
Commonwealth
Records
Incorporated
Church Building Society
Ireland
The Library has a number
of sources for the ecclesiastical and political history of Ireland; only
those particularly relevant to local history are highlighted here.
Manuscripts:
Carew
MSS; photograph album of Archbishop Benson in Ireland, 1896 (MS 3977)
Scotland
The Library has a number
of sources for the ecclesiastical and political history of Scotland; only
those particularly relevant to local history are highlighted here.
Manuscripts:
Includes papers on Scottish
ecclesiastical history collected by Francis Carolus Eeles, 1682-1854(MSS
1520, 1522-7, 1533-5, 1539-44) and a journal of a tour of Scotland and
Northern England, 1846 (MS 1600).
|