History of Lambeth Palace Library |
|
Selective bibliography (revised January 2006)BILL, Edward Geoffrey Watson. ‘Lambeth Palace Library’, The Library, 1966, pp.192-206.[BILL, Edward Geoffrey Watson]. Lambeth Palace Library 1958-1963, 1963. BILL, Edward Geoffrey Watson. Unexpected collections at Lambeth Palace Library (London University Library Resources Coordinating Committee, Occasional Publications 2) 1982. BILL, Edward Geoffrey Watson. Article on Claude Jenkins in The Dictionary of National Biography: Missing Persons, edited by C.S. Nicholls, 1993, pp.350-1. BOTFIELD, Beriah. Notes on the cathedral libraries of England, 1849, pp.189-258. CAVE-BROWNE, John. Lambeth Palace and its associations, 1882, pp.57-109. CLARKE, William. Repertorium bibliographicum, 1819, Vol.I, pp.93-106. COX-JOHNSON, Ann. ‘Lambeth Palace Library 1610-1664’, Transactions of the Cambridge Bibliographical Society, Vol.II, 2, 1955, pp.105-126. DODWELL, Charles Reginald. Lambeth Palace, 1958. DUCAREL, Andrew Coltee. The history and antiquities of the archiepiscopal palace of Lambeth from its foundation to the present, 1785, pp.47-76. GARDINER, Dorothy. The story of Lambeth Palace: a historic survey, 1930, pp.209-219. JAMES, Montague Rhodes. ‘The history of Lambeth Palace Library’, Transactions of the Cambridge Bibliographical Society, Vol.III, 1, 1959, pp.1-31. JAMES, Montague Rhodes. The manuscripts in the Library at Lambeth Palace (Cambridge Antiquarian Society. Publications. Octavo series. 33) 1900. KER, Neil Ripley. ‘Archbishop Sancroft’s rearrangement of the manuscripts of Lambeth Palace’ in A catalogue of manuscripts in Lambeth Palace Library. MSS 1222-1860, by E.G.W. Bill, 1972, pp.1-51. KER, Neil Ripley. Medieval manuscripts in British libraries. 1. London, 1969, pp.93-115. LAMBETH PALACE LIBRARY. The Lambeth lectures: mediaeval records of the archbishops of Canterbury: a course of lectures delivered in Lambeth Palace Library in 1960, edited by E.G.W. Bill, 1962. LIBRARY ASSOCIATION. Rare Books Group. A directory of rare books and special collections in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland, 2nd ed., edited by B.C. Bloomfield and Karen Potts, 1997, pp.274-279. NICHOLS, John. Literary anecdotes of the eighteenth century …, 9 vols., 1812-15, especially entries for A.C. Ducarel, Vol.6, pp.380-405, and Lambeth Palace Library, Vol.7, references indexed on p.220. PALMER, Richard. 'Reginald Dodwell, Lambeth Librarian 1953-1958', Medieval art: recent perspectives. A memorial tribute to C.R. Dodwell, edited by Gale R. Owen-Crocker and Timothy Graham, 1998, pp.224-230. PEARSON, David. 'The libraries of English bishops, 1600-1640', The Library, sixth series, vol.14, 1992, pp.221-257. TATTON-BROWN, Tim. Lambeth Palace: a history of the archbishops of Canterbury and their houses, 2000, pp. 70-103 passim. See also:- LAMBETH PALACE LIBRARY. Annual report, 1953-91. LAMBETH PALACE LIBRARY. Friends. Annual report. 1964/5-1991. LAMBETH PALACE LIBRARY. Annual review, 1992- Material entered under Lambeth Palace Library in the Corporate Author and Subject Indexes of the on-line catalogue of the Library’s printed books (e.g. exhibition catalogues, published catalogues, bibliographies, etc.). For more detailed research:- Material relating to the history of the Library is also to be found in the manuscript and archives sequences, in particular the Library Records. Please contact the Library for further guidance. |