|
ress:
sources for clerical costume
Introduction
- Reference sources
- Liturgical and other
ecclesiastical reference sources - Historical sources
- Biographical sources - Pictorial sources
- Portraits -
Back to
research guides
Introduction
This brief survey covers Lambeth
sources for the costume of both pre-Reformation English clergy and post-Reformation
Anglican clergy. Lambeth also holds some material relating to the dress
of clergy of other denominations and countries.
Clerical dress varied according
to the occasion. The nature and use of outdoor, lay, convocation, court,
choir, and liturgical dress were all different in principle, though not
always in practice. The ordinary in and outdoor dress of the clergy often
followed the fashions of the laity. Dress also varied of course according
to the ecclesiastical rank of the wearer, and for other reasons such as
the university attended, high or low church inclination, wealth, and personal
preference. Contemporary writers did not normally bother to describe what
clergymen were wearing because their readers were already likely to know.
This often makes it difficult to say what a particular cleric would have
been wearing on a particular occasion unless there is a surviving contemporary
picture of the event.
The
dress of the clergy was subject to canon or church law. The canon law in
force at any time specified to some extent what the clergy should wear,
but it did not cover all usages and was not always observed. The interpretation
of canon law regarding dress was sometimes a source of dispute in the Church
of England. For example, the mitre never ceased to be legal headwear for
Anglican bishops but its use lapsed after the Reformation until the end
of the 19th century. On the other hand the wigs worn by the clergy from
the late 17th to the early 19th century were not based on canon law but
were adhered to tenaciously.
This guide is not intended
to be exhaustive. It aims only at providing an overview of the kinds of
material at Lambeth relevant to enquiries about clerical dress. It
is divided into sections on the various sources available, and you may
either browse the whole or click on to any of the individual sections:-
Reference
Sources on Clerical Dress; Liturgical and other
Ecclesiastical Reference Sources; Historical
Sources; Biographical Sources; Pictorial
Sources; Portraits; and brief introductory
bibliographies on Ecclesiastical Heraldry and
the Legal Basis for clerical dress. Any
researcher interested in a specific subject relating to clerical dress
is very welcome to write to contact the Library for further information.
Reference
sources on clerical dress
This is the most useful starting
point for research into clerical costume. Lambeth holdings are extensive
but not exhaustive. The range of published material is quite broad, but
no one reference book covers all topics. Many concentrate in a scholarly
fashion on the historical development of vestments to the exclusion of
other clerical dress. Some are 19th century publications and rarely
include coloured illustrations. It is useful to supplement the books which
follow with some of the other kinds of resources such as Pictorial
Sources.
The most useful reference
works are probably:-
J. Mayo, A history
of ecclesiastical dress, (London, 1984).
The standard work on the
subject, which concentrates on what was actually worn. It includes a good
bibliography for further study and many informative illustrations.
The ornaments of the Church
and its ministers … report of the sub-committee appointed February 1907,
to draw up a historical memorandum on the ornaments of the Church and its
ministers (Canterbury Convocation report 416).
The growth of ritualistic
practices in the 19th century led to this scholarly report to the Upper
House of the Convocation of Canterbury. It concentrates on what was legally
permissible.
The following is a selection
of some other useful illustrated works on clerical dress:-
H.J. Clayton, The
ornaments of the ministers as shown on English monumental brasses,
(London, 1919)
P. Dearmer, The ornaments
of the ministers, (London, 1920)
P. Dearmer, The parson’s
handbook, (Any edition)
A. Dolby, Church vestments:
their origin, use and ornament practically illustrated, (London, 1868).
Pre-Reformation period.
R.A.S. Macalister, Ecclesiastical
vestments: their development and history, (London, 1896). Pre-Reformation
period.
H. Norris, Church vestments:
their origin and development, (London, 1949).
G.S. Tyack, Historic dress
of the clergy, (London, 1897)
There are also works on more
specific topics. For example:-
H.J. Clayton, Cassock
and gown, (Oxford, 1929)
P. Dearmer, St. Paul’s
cloke: the story of the chasuble, (London, 1917)
B.F. Harvey, Monastic
dress in the middle ages, (Canterbury, 1988)
W.H.S. Hope and E.G.C.F.
Atchley, English liturgical colours, (London, 1918)
O.S. Reichel, English
liturgical vestments in the thirteenth century, (London, 1895)
L. Spiller, Stoles and
scarves, (London, 1957)
Of course there are also
less specialised publications on the history of costume in general and
these may include examples of ecclesiastical dress. Lambeth has very few
general works of this kind and you would probably find a better selection
in your local public reference library.
N.B. Court dress for the
clergy was laid down in considerable detail by the Lord Chamberlain’s Office.
Lambeth has little relevant material, but more should be held in the official
papers at the National Archives.
Liturgical
and other ecclesiastical reference sources
There is a vast range of works on
liturgy in general and on the services and ceremonies of the different
denominations. Many include information on clerical dress in church, as do the
standard reference books on the Christian Church. There are too many to attempt
even a selective list but a good starting point would be:-
F.L. Cross, The
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd edn, edited by E.A.
Livingstone (Oxford, 2005).
An excellent reference work,
though unfortunately not illustrated. There are many articles on
individual items of clerical dress, sometimes with bibliographies for further
study.
The Catholic encyclopaedia:
an international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline
and history of the Catholic Church, edited by C.G. Herbermann, etc.
(17 vols., London, 1907-1922). Despite the title, this includes much of
relevance to the English Church. Limited illustration.
J.G Davies, A new dictionary
of liturgy and worship, (London, 1986). In particular this has a good
illustrated article on Vestments.
Publications of the Alcuin
Club, the Henry Bradshaw Society, and the Society of SS. Peter & Paul.
Historical
sources
Lambeth has very substantial
holdings on the history of the English Church. This is of interest for
background material, but as a method of research into clerical dress would
be very time-consuming and not very productive.
There are some topics which
relate more closely to the historical significance of clerical dress eg
the Reformation, Puritanism, Ritualism, Anglo-Catholicism, the parish clergy,
bishops, religious orders, etc. However books on these topics are
still better used for background information rather than starting points
for research on clerical dress.
The exception would be any
controversy on some important aspect of clerical dress, that generated
contemporary publications and secondary literature, for example the vestments
controversy in England during the 16th century:-
J.H. Primus, The
vestments controversy: an historical study of the earliest tensions within
the Church of England in the reigns of Edward VI and Elizabeth … (Kampen,
1960).
Detailed history of the
controversy.
Advertisements partly
for due order in the publique administration of common prayers and usinge
the holy sacramentes, and partly for the apparrell of all persons ecclesiasticall,
by vertue of the Queenes maiesties letters commaunding the same …
(London, 1567?).
Reprint of Archbishop Parker’s
1565 Advertisements. Rules on liturgy and clerical dress which were the
source of considerable dispute.
Examples of contemporary
controversial responses:-
An answere for
the tyme, to the examination put in print … pretending to mayntayne the
apparrell prescribed against the declaration of the mynisters of London,
(Rouen?, 1566).
R. Crowley, A briefe
discourse against the outwards apparell and ministring garmentes of the
popishe church, (1578).
A. Gilby, To my lovynge
brethren that ar troublyd abowt the popishe aparrel two short and comfortable
epistels … (Emden, 1566).
See also Introduction
and Legal basis bibliography for the legal background
and general publications.
For researchers studying
some aspect of clerical dress in depth there may well be relevant material
in the Lambeth manuscript and archive sequences. An overview
of these holdings is available online, or write to the Library for advice.
Biographical
sources
Biographies of the clergy may
describe particular events in detail and may even refer to such specific
points as a clergyman’s preference in clothing, for example a dislike of
the dog collar or the use of a cassock.
However clerical biographies
are more often useful on clerical dress because they frequently include
portraits of the subjects of the biographies. These can also be used as
examples of clerical costume for other clergy of the period. Lambeth has
a very large collection of biographies of English clergy, and there is
no point in singling out individual biographies as examples.
There are various searches
which can be performed in the online catalogue that will identify
suitable biographies.
See also Portraits
and research guides to Biographical Sources
for Archbishops of Canterbury.
Pictorial
sources
These are the most useful sources
for actually reproducing clerical costume. They are often as informative
from this point of view as the most detailed written descriptions, though
of course many works combine written descriptions with illustrations.
Pictorial reproductions
may be taken from a variety of sources:-
Memorial brasses and tombs,
representations on seals, stained glass, illuminated manuscripts, contemporary
illustrations in books and newspapers, and unexpected sources such as illustrated
advertisements in church publications. Portraits,
including prints and photographs are covered below.
It is important to remember
that non-contemporary representations of an individual (for example in
illuminated manuscripts) will not provide reliable pictures of the cleric
himself or of his clothing. However such representations may be very useful
as examples of clerical dress at the time when they were produced. Some
of this material (such as tomb sculptures and seals) is likely to have
suffered damage over the course of the centuries, and may not reproduce
well in photographic illustration.
Lambeth has very substantial,
though far from exhaustive, holdings of books on this kind of material,
including lists, gazetteers, histories, and detailed accounts of local
areas and individual churches and cathedrals. There are too many to attempt
even a selective list.
There is a large collection
of colour photographs available in the Reading Room of pictures from the
Lambeth medieval manuscripts. It includes some illustrations of clerical
dress, contemporary with the dates when the manuscripts were written.
Please see the information on our
reprographics services
if you are interested in reproductions of these images.
Portraits
This is probably the most important
of the
Pictorial Sources. It includes contemporary
paintings, prints and photographs.
The following are some of
the standard reference sources:-
Dictionary of
British portraiture, (4 vols., London, 1979-81). Produced in association
with the National Portrait Gallery.
J. Ingamells, The English
episcopal portrait 1559-1835: a catalogue, (New Haven, 1981)
Examples of more specific
collections:-
G.M. Bevan, editor,
Portraits
of the archbishops of Canterbury, (London, 1908).
For more information on
the archbishops please see guides to Biographical
Sources for the Archbishops of Canterbury.
O.R. Rowley, The House
of Bishops: portraits of the living archbishops and bishops of the Church
of England in Canada … (Montreal, 1907)
The House of Bishops:
the latest portraits of the living bishops of the Protestant Episcopal
Church in the United States … (New York, 1904)
Unexpected sources include
ecclesiastical portrait journals and series. There was a surprising vogue
for this kind of publication in the 19th century. For example:-
The Church portrait
journal: a monthly paper for church people, (London, 1876-89)
Dignitaries of the Church:
high class ecclesiastical periodical and portrait album (London, 1889-1990)
Portraits of bishops,
(Cheltenham, 1872-73)
It is worth noting that editions
of a clergyman’s works often include a picture of the author.
Lambeth
has a large collection of mainly black and white prints of the Anglican
clergy dating from the 16th to the 19th century, and some photographs of
Anglican clergy from the 19th century to the present day. They are indexed in
the Prints Index in the online catalogue.
There are also very substantial
holdings of photographs of clergymen, both of the Church of England and
of the other provinces of the Anglican Communion, in the Lambeth
Manuscripts and in various archival collections, such as the papers of
the Lambeth Conferences. They are noted in the indexes to the relevant
collections. An overview of these
holdings is available online, or write to the Library for advice.
Please see the information on our
reprographics services if you are interested in reproductions of these images.
Appendix
1: Ecclesiastical heraldry
The Library is not expert in
ecclesiastical heraldry but does hold a reasonable selection of printed
material relating mainly to the heraldry of Anglican bishops, including
the standard works:-
W.K.R. Bedford,
The
blazon of episcopacy, being the arms borne by or attributed to the archbishops
and bishops of England and Wales, 2nd edn, (Oxford, 1897)
A.C. Fox-Davies, A complete
guide to heraldry, (London, 1949 reprint).
Chapter on ecclesiastical
heraldry.
J. Woodward, A treatise
on ecclesiastical heraldry, (Edinburgh and London, 1894)
Appendix
2: Legal basis: short bibliography
The primary and secondary legal
material is very extensive with only scattered references to clerical dress.
It is definitely not the best or easiest way to research clerical
costume but is included as the legal basis on which clerical costume was
established.
The following are useful
starting points for canon law texts:-
Constitutions
and canons ecclesiastical, first produced in 1603 and published in
1604, and all later editions up to The canons of the Church of England,
6th edn, 2000.
The Anglican canons 1529-1947,
edited by Gerald Bray (Church of England Record Society, vol. 6, 1998)
Codex iuris ecclesiastici
anglicani, edited by Edmund Gibson (2nd edition, 2 vols., 1761).
Still the most complete
collection of texts.
Lyndwood's Provinciale:
the text of the canons therein contained, reprinted from the translation
made in 1534, edited by J.V. Bullard and H.C. Bell (London, 1929).
A standard authority on
the texts of English medieval canon law.
Canon law was not superseded
in England at the Reformation but it was subordinated to parliamentary
or statute law, for example the Acts of Uniformity of 1549, 1552, 1559,
and 1662.
The following are useful
modern summaries and handbooks:-
The canon law
of the Church of England, being the report of the Archbishops' Commission
on Canon Law … (London, 1947).
A good summary
E.G. Moore, Moore’s Introduction
to English canon law. 3rd edn, by T. Briden and B. Hanson (London,
1992). A good summary.
N. Doe, The legal framework
of the Church of England: a critical study in a comparative context,
(Oxford, 1996).
Very detailed and scholarly
handbook.
M. Hill, Ecclesiastical
law, 2nd edition (London, 2001).
Detailed and scholarly handbook.
L. Leeder, Ecclesiastical
law handbook, (London, 1997).
Detailed and scholarly handbook.
For examples of the application
of canon law in practice, particularly at diocesan level, the following
collections are particularly useful examples:-
Visitation articles
and injunctions of the period of the Reformation, edited by W.H. Frere
and W.M. Kennedy (3 vols., Alcuin Club Collections 14-16, 1910).
Visitation articles and
injunctions of the early Stuart Church, edited by K. Fincham
(2 vols., Church of England
Record Society, 1,5, 1994-98).
|