Research Guides |
|
Biographical sources for Anglican clergyThis guide is intended to be an introduction to the various sources that exist for those engaged in biographical research on individuals who have served as members of the Anglican clergy. It is not a starting point for family history - please see the Society of Genealogists if you are just starting on your family tree. The emphasis of this guide is on Anglican clergy from the 17th century onwards. It is hoped to produce another guide which will concentrate on the medieval and pre-Civil war clergy. It encompasses archival, manuscript and printed resources – but visiting these pages is not a substitute for original research. Many of the published works included here should be held by your local reference or local studies library. Please note that not all the sources mentioned are held at Lambeth Palace Library - check our printed books catalogue. For more specific biographical information on the life of Anglican clergy, it can be worthwhile consulting sources outlined in the guide to sources for family history and genealogy. If you are researching an ancestor who was an Anglican clergyman then Peter Towey, My Ancestor was an Anglican Clergyman (London, 2006) may be a good starting point. Some detailed information on archival sources at the Library is included, but you should note that the Church of England has not traditionally been a centralised body, and much more material is available at the local diocesan and parish level. Church of England records (other than parish records) are normally created and held at diocesan level. A diocesan record office is often the local county record office, though further details may be obtained from Crockford's Clerical Directory or The National Archives. It should, however, be noted that diocesan boundaries have been subject to many changes, especially at the Reformation and during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It is therefore vital to check the records for the diocese in which a priest served at the time, as well as those for his parish's present diocese. Records may also have been transferred to any subsequent diocese(s). The history of the diocesan and other boundaries with reference to individual parishes and townships may be traced in F.A. Youngs, Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Royal Historical Society Guides and Handbooks, vol. 1, Southern England (London, 1980) and vol. 2, Northern England (London, 1991). To identify record offices which hold diocesan records, try searching the National Register of Archives. Some catalogues of diocesan records are also available on the Access to Archives (A2A) website. A project is in progress, the Clergy of the Church of England Database project, which is producing a database of clergymen of the Church of England between 1540 and 1835. Library materials are described in this guide purely in terms of their genealogical significance. For further information, including details of finding aids, please click on the links below to our detailed holdings. Use your browser's "back" button to return to this guide. The guide covers the following topics: Birth, adoption,
marriage and death - University Education
Birth, adoption, marriage and deathBasic genealogical information on births, marriages and deaths can be found for clergymen in just the same way as for other members of the population. It is likely that a clergyman would have been baptised, married and buried as an Anglican and that a record of these events would have been kept in the parish register of the church concerned. Relevant registers may be identified using:C.R. Humphery-Smith (ed.), The Phillimore atlas and index of parish registers (3rd edn, Chichester, 2003)After 1837 these events were registered nationally and certificates may be obtained from the Family Records Centre (1 Myddleton Street, London EC1R 1UW, UK). The Centre holds indexes of births, marriages and deaths in England and Wales from 1837 and indexes of legal adoptions in England and Wales since 1927. Principal Registry of the Family Division, 1st Avenue House, 42-49 High Holborn, London WC1V 6NP, UK. Holds copies of all wills admitted to probate in England and Wales from 1858. For further information, contact the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, London EC1M 7BA, UK (Genealogical reference library) or your local record office (a list is maintained by the National Archives). Another useful online guide to the location of sources for family history is Familia. University educationThe majority of Church of England clergymen were university graduates. Degrees prior to the 19th century would almost invariably have been at Oxford or Cambridge. The Oxbridge registers include biographical information.Cambridge
W.D. Peckham, Additions & corrections to J. & J.A. Venn, Alumni Cantabrigienses, (Lewes, 1968)
J. Foster, Alumni Oxonienses: the members of the University of Oxford, 1715-1886…, (Oxford and London, 1888) Registers of graduates of several of the Cambridge and Oxford colleges have also been published. Trinity College Dublin Printed registers have been produced for some other universities including Durham and London (England); Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St. Andrews (Scotland). There are also a number of published registers of schools (mainly the older public establishments) Theological colleges were founded from the early nineteenth century onwards and provided education and training for non-graduates. See A. Munden and N. Pollard, Anglican theological, missionary and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and Ireland, (Coventry, 1998). (The Library has only limited holdings). For recent information, see the latest edition of the Church of England Year Book. Clerical directoriesCrockford’s Clerical Directory: a directory of the clergy of the Church of England, the Church in Wales, the Scottish Episcopal Church, the Church of Ireland (London, 1858-). The basic source of career information, maintained by the Church of England. Modern data is available online by subscription. Lambeth Palace Library holds a complete set.The first issue entitled Clerical directory was issued in 1858 (now known as ‘Crockford's’), and was usually issued annually. It contains alphabetical lists of the clergy of the Church of England (though it does not include dates of birth or death or family information) and also includes clergy of the Episcopal Church in Scotland, Established Church of Ireland, and certain Colonial Anglican churches. It includes information on education, date and diocese of ordination as deacon (d) and priest (p), posts held and publications. It also includes details of non-stipendiary ministers and those involved in some kind of ministry outside the parochial system (including hospital, prison, educational or services chaplains). Earlier directories (not so detailed as Crockford's) include: Clerical guide, or ecclesiastical directory... (London, 1817-29 and 1836) Royal Commission on Ecclesiastical Revenues,
report 1835. Records all clergy (with year of admission), patrons of each
benefice, number of curates, income of each benefice, other preferments held by
incumbents etc. There are many local and diocesan publications – church calendars, yearbooks and directories, (eg London Diocese Yearbook and Canterbury Diocesan Directory) - which often contain career information and obituaries. The majority of these started publication in the nineteenth century. A few are held at Lambeth Palace Library but they should also be held at local reference libraries and record offices. They do not usually include detailed genealogical or biographical information. J. Le Neve, Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae. (London, 1716). (Revised and enlarged by T. Duffus Hardy in 1854.) A new edition of this standard reference work for the higher clergy is being undertaken by the Institute of Historical Research in a series of volumes, dealing with the periods 1066-1300, 1300-1541, and 1541-1857 (London, 1964-). (It contains referenced lists of higher clergy of the Church, tracing the chronology and careers of all bishops, deans, archdeacons and canons of England and Wales from 1066 to the mid-nineteenth century, when Crockford’s Clerical Directory was first published. Some indexes are available online.) The companion volumes for the Church of Ireland are H. Cotton, Fasti Ecclesiae Hibernicae..., (Dublin, 1848-60).and for the Episcopal Church in Scotland: D.M. Bertie,Scottish Episcopal Clergy, 1689-2000 (Edinburgh, 2000). For other Anglican Churches overseas, see the list at the end of this guide. J. Foster, Index Ecclesiasticus... (Oxford, 1890). (Includes beneficed clergy only, not curates. Covers the period 1800-1840 only. Though further volumes were planned, they were never published.) J.Smallwood, typescript lists with biographical details of bishops, by diocese (work in progress, 41 volumes held by Lambeth Palace Library) General reference booksMany higher clergy are included in general reference works, which can provide a starting-point for research. See the Library's guide to biographical sources for Archbishops of Canterbury 597-1070 and 1052-present.Archbishops, many bishops and significant members of the clergy have entries in the Dictionary of National Biography (L. Stephen and S. Lee, (eds.), 63 vols, London, 1885-1900). The DNB is the standard biographical source (with bibliographies) for people of Britain, Ireland and the colonies. Supplements extend the coverage to lives ended up to 1990. There is also a volume of missing persons: C.S. Nicholls [et.al.], The Dictionary of National Biography: Missing Persons, (Oxford, 1993). A new edition to replace and extend that of Stephen and Lee was published in print and electronic format in 2004 by Oxford University Press. This revised all the articles in the old DNB and added a further 13,500 new articles: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (H.C.G.Matthew and B.Harrison, (eds.), 60 vols., Oxford, 2004). For the nineteenth century, F. Boase, Modern English Biography...of persons who have died since 1850, (London, [1892-1921] 1965) covers less well-known individuals, and supplements information in the DNB. Who’s Who: an annual biographical dictionary. Has been published annually since 1849, containing detailed information on many major figures around the world. The earlier issues simply contain lists of names. The Library holds current issues only. Who Was Who... (London, 1916-). Usually decennial. Contains the biographies removed from Who’s Who on account of death. The most recent issue covers the period 1991-1995, and there is also Who Was Who: a cumulated index 1897-1990, (London, 1991). F. L. Cross and E.A. Livingstone (eds.), The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, (3rd ed., Oxford, 2005) contains short biographical entries on many archbishops of Canterbury and other notable clergy, with detailed bibliographies. Other specialised sources:Periodical publications/obituaries - Ordination records Appointments of parish clergy (beneficed clergy and curates) Posts other than parish clergy (Chaplains, Noblemen's Chaplains, Members of the Chapel Royal, Missionaries and Anglican clergymen abroad) The Commonwealth Period - Other Anglican Churches The Library has a very large collection of biographies of Anglican clergy. They include memoirs of relatively obscure individuals as well as better-known clerics. There are too many to single out any individual publications but those held at the Library may be readily identified from our catalogue of printed books. See the Library's guides to biographical sources for Archbishops of Canterbury 597-1070 and 1052-present. Local record and history society publications and directories can also be very helpful in unearthing information about individuals associated with a particular area, as can published family and local histories and the journals of national and local historical, genealogical and record societies. P. Bell, Dictionary of Edwardian Biography: master index, (Edinburgh, 1986) cumulates the separate indexes to the original volumes of Pike's New Century Series (1898-1912) and its reprint renamed A Dictionary of Edwardian Biography (1983-). Illustrated county biographies grouped according to the accepted gradations of county society. Issued by county, relying on local sources for information. Official diocesan publications (e.g. Canterbury and London) are noted under Clerical directories. Diocesan histories may also be useful. The Library also has substantial holdings of Irish diocesan clergy lists/biographies and histories. Search the online catalogue for more information, using the name of the diocese as the subject, corporate author and/or keyword. Some examples of useful reference works on beneficed clergy: E.H.W. Dunkin, C. Jenkins & E.A.Fry, (ed.), Index to the Act Books of the Archbishops of Canterbury 1663-1859 (British Record Society, 55, 63. London, 1929-1939)MS. 1611 is a typescript alphabetical list of Hampshire clergy, 1250-1910, compiled by Dr S. Anderson. Diocesan records may also contain information about about the career of an individual clergyman, though they are usually formal documents with little personal detail. D.M. Owen, Records of the Established Church in England, excluding parochial records, (London: British Records Association, 1970; Archives and the user; no. 1). These include ordination records and records of appointments of parochial and other clergy. For the address of a diocesan record office, please use the list maintained by the National Archives. Occasionally personal details about a clergyman are given in visitation returns, answers to visitation articles circulated by a diocesan bishop or archdeacon. The articles usually asked whether the incumbent was resident in the parish, and if not whether the duty was being performed by a licensed curate. The Library has visitation returns for the diocese of Canterbury, 1758-1935, the Archbishop’s peculiars, 1717-1807, and the diocese of London, 1763-1900. Call books (Libri cleri) record the names of clergy summoned to appear during a visitation. The Library has call books for the bishop of London, 1763-1803 passim (Fulham Papers), the archbishop’s peculiars, 1637-1845 (Vicar General: VH 56), and the archdeaconry of Cornwall, 1713-1749 (Court of Arches Exhibits Ff 35c-v). The Cornish series records dates of induction of incumbents. Details from the 1758 visitation returns for the diocese and peculiars of Canterbury were recorded by Archbishop Secker in his diocesan survey or speculum, which has recently been published: Jeremy Gregory, The Speculum of Archbishop Thomas Secker, [1758-1768] (Church of England Record Society, vol. 2, 1995). Other visitation returns have been published. Parish records may contain information about the living held by an individual clergyman; sometimes personal correspondence and papers are also contained in such an archive. Parish records should be held at the local record office; for the address of a record office, use the list maintained by the National Archives. Lambeth Palace Library holds a very large collection of printed parish guides. Search the online catalogue for more information, using the name of the parish as the subject, corporate author and/or keyword.
Biographical information (including obituary notices) can be found in church and national newspapers, journal publications and annual reports, but please note that few of these are well or reliably indexed. Church newspapers: The Church Times...(weekly), 1863-.
Ordination records (admission to holy orders) should be kept at the diocesan record office of the bishop who carried out the ordination which will usually be the county record office (bishops may be identified from F.M. Powicke and E.B. Fryde, Handbook of British Chronology (London, 1986); for the address of a record office, use the list maintained by the National Archives). For further information on this and on records kept by the diocesan administration, see: D.M. Owen, Records of the established Church in England, excluding parochial records, (London: British Records Association, 1970) (Archives and the user; no. 1). Lambeth Palace Library is not a local record office and has relatively few ordination records. Ordination records usually contain information on the date and place of ordination and the name of the ordaining bishop. The records may contain details of the qualifications of the individual (such as the examination of literacy) and testimonials, but they do not usually contain detailed genealogical information. Candidates applying for ordination were required to provide letters testimonial, and evidence of a title, often a curacy, to which the ordinand was subsequently licensed. The papers may also include dates of birth and education. Towards the end of the 19th century, ordination papers may in addition include reports from incumbents on ordinands officiating as curates during their year’s diaconate. From the early 20th century, candidates were required to fill out detailed printed forms, which provide information on their parentage, education, and reasons for applying for orders. The Library has incomplete holdings for London diocese for the mid-18th century, primarily of the colonial clergy. The Fulham Papers (Colonial) include the ordination papers for clergy ordained to officiate in America, 1752-1802, in Canada, and in the West Indies, 1749-1822 (Fulham Papers, vols. 21-32). There are also a few ordinations papers in the Fulham Papers (London) series, eg. Lowth 2. Records of other colonial clergy are in the papers of the Bishops of London in the Guildhall Library. See also James B. Bell, Anglican clergy in Colonial America ordained by the Bishops of London (Worcester [Mass.], 1973), reprinted from Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, April 1973. For office convenience, some diocesan officials maintained separate lists or books of ordinands. William Dickes, secretary to the bishop of London, extracted details of ordinands from the London diocesan subscription books and produced partly alphabetical and chronological lists of candidates ordained for work in the diocese of London and in the colonies, c. 1723-1780 (Fulham Papers, vols. 38, 39, 42). [Ordination papers for the diocese of Canterbury, 1902-1944, formerly held at Lambeth Palace Library were transferred to Canterbury Cathedral Archives in May 2003. For Randall Davidson’s tenure of the see of Rochester, 1894-5, and Winchester, 1895-1902, his small collection of ordination papers formerly held in Lambeth Palace Library were transferred to Hampshire Record Office in July 2003.] Bishops often kept more informal notes on their ordinands, see for example the ordination book of Archbishop Herring, covering his tenure at both York and Canterbury, 1747-58 (Archbishops’ Papers: Herring 1). This notes names of ordinands, their degrees, and the curacy to which they were being licensed. More detailed notebooks on ordinands were kept by the Bishops of London, such as Richard Terrick, 1764-77 (Fulham Papers: Terrick 7), C.J. Blomfield 1828-56, A.C.Tait, 1856-68 (Tait 390-4, including some Blomfield entries), John Jackson, 1869-84 (Fulham Papers: Jackson 3-9) and Arthur Winnington-Ingram, 1901-39 (Fulham Papers: Winnington-Ingram 10), and by the Archbishops from 1869-83 (Archbishops’ Papers: Tait Papers 395-6), and from 1903-1935 (Archbishops’ Papers: Davidson Papers, 556-8, including some entries under Archbishop Lang). The Davidson Papers also include notes on his ordinands as bishop of Rochester, 1894-5, and of Winchester, 1895-1902 (Archbishops’ Papers: Davidson Papers, 555-556). Where the ordination papers have not survived, dates of orders can be gleaned from other sources. From the Restoration, dates of ordinations held by the archbishop of Canterbury are entered in the act books of the archbishops. These volumes also record letters dimissory issued for candidates applying to the archbishop for orders, but permitted to be ordained by another bishop in his stead. Applications for dispensations for illegitimacy, ordination under-age, to receive the orders of deacon and priest together, or to be ordained by any bishop ‘extra tempore’ were submitted to the Master of the Faculties and the ensuing dispensation were registered in the Faculty Office muniment books. During the late 17th and early 18th century, the archbishop of Canterbury at times required information on ordinations held by his suffragan bishops within the province. The returns are fairly haphazard and incomplete, but relate to the bishops of Bristol, Chichester, Lincoln, Norwich, St. Davids (See MSS. 639, ff. 318-54; 942/27; Vicar General records VX 1A/4a/2-5). The archbishop also kept a register of ordinands, arranged by diocese, with notes of those refused orders, 1694 -1704 (Vicar General records VX 1A/4a/1). From the early 18th century, records of appointments to benefices and dispensations to hold benefices in plurality entered in the act books of the archbishops often conclude with details of the applicant’s orders (eg. d. 20 May 1744, N. Exon; p. 11 June 1745 Benj. Winchester - ie ordained deacon 20 May 1744 by Nicholas Claget, bishop of Exeter, and priest 11 June by Benjamin Hoadley, bishop of Winchester). On ordination, all candidates were required to subscribe to the thirty-nine articles, and subscriptions for all of those clergy ordained by the archbishop are entered in the archbishops' subscription books.
Beneficed clergy Records of the appointments of clergy by the archbishop in the diocese and peculiars (ie. exempt jurisdictions) of Canterbury and in other dioceses within the province of Canterbury during a vacancy, or during a metropolitical visitation (mainly pre-Restoration) are normally to be located in the Archbishops’ Registers, 1272-1928. Before the Restoration, the register was the principal record of appointments of clergy to benefices. But from the primacy of Archbishop Sheldon (1663-77), information on appointments of clergy is more easily accessible in the act books of the archbishops of Canterbury, 1663-1963. With a few exceptions, records of the institution of clergy during the vacancy of the see of Canterbury are entered in the registers of the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury which are in Canterbury Cathedral Library. However, following the suspension of Archbishop Sancroft (1689-91), the see was administered by the Dean and Chapter, but the Dean and Chapter Register is in the Library (Archbishops’ Registers). For the 19th century, the key source for the exact dates of clerical appointments is the Ecclesiastical Gazette, for which the Library holds a set for 1838-1899. See the printed books catalogue for more information. Curates The Archbishops’ Registers and Act Books of the Archbishops include few details of the licensing of stipendiary curates, and most of these relate to the Peculiars (exempt jurisdictions) of Croydon, Shoreham and the Arches. All clergy on licensing and institution were required to subscribe to the Thirty-Nine Articles, and these are recorded in the subscription books, mainly from 1660.
Chaplains The Library has various sources of material on chaplains of all kinds. For example, the standard works on the service chaplains are: A.G. Kealy, Chaplains of the Royal Navy, 1626-1903, (Portsmouth, 1905?) and G.C. Taylor, The sea chaplains: a history of the chaplains of the Royal Navy, (Oxford, 1978)
Peers of the Realm could appoint their own domestic chaplains, and provided that these chaplains showed evidence of learning (usually a M.A.), and had their appointment registered by the Faculty Office, they could apply to the latter to hold more than one benefice in plurality. From 1660 to1914, there are registers of noblemen’s chaplains which record the dates of the appointment and registration. Most volumes include an index of noblemen. Records of dispensations to hold benefices in plurality are recorded in the Faculty Office muniment books from 1660 onwards. For the years, 1660-3, these are the principal record for the issue of dispensations. Thereafter, the act books of the archbishops record all the salient details relating to grants of dispensation to hold in plurality, such as name of cleric, the nobleman for whom he was chaplain, the two benefices, county, diocese, values, and date. This aspect of the archbishop’s jurisdiction exercised through the Faculty Office extended over the whole of England and Wales, and not just the province of Canterbury. Members of the Chapel Royal There is a list of personnel in D. Baldwin, The Chapel Royal: ancient and modern (London, 1990). There are some other sources at the Library. Missionaries and Anglican clergymen abroad The principal Anglican missionary societies are the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, the Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge and the Church Missionary Society. The Library holds some records of the S.P.G., for which a calendar has been published. These records are also available on microfilm from World Microfilms or on loan from the British Library. Other S.P.G. records are held at the Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House. The S.P.C.K. archive is held at the Cambridge University Library and the Church Missionary Society archive is held at the Birmingham University Library. For the location of records of other missionary societies, contact the National Archives or consult the Mundus website. Prior to the establishment of dioceses abroad, the activities of Anglicans overseas were generally administered by the bishops of London. The records of this administration (the Fulham Papers) are held by the Library and a calendar has been published. The records are also available on microfilm from World Microfilms or on loan from the British Library. See above for ordination records for colonial clergy. Further information on clergy in Europe may be held at the Guildhall Library, including records of the Colonial and Continental Church Society, and the diocese of Gibraltar. After the establishment of dioceses abroad, records of their administration should be held locally. For the addresses of foreign dioceses, see The Church of England Yearbook. The Library holds some published directories for foreign dioceses and other Anglican churches, but the series are by no means complete. Many Anglican clergy were educated or trained in England and information may be obtainable from the other sources detailed in this guide. The following publications may also be helpful: R. Frappell, L. Frappell, R. Nobbs and R. Withycombe (eds.), Anglicans in the Antipodes. An indexed calendar of the papers and correspondence of the archbishops of Canterbury, 1788-1961, relating to Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific, Bibliographies and Indexes in Religious Studies 50 (Westport, Connecticut and London, 1999)
The standard reference sources for persecuted clergy are: A.G. Matthews, Walker revised: being a revision of John Walker’s Sufferings of the clergy during the Grand Rebellion, 1642-1660, (Oxford, 1988) contains biographies for Anglican clergy persecuted 1642-60The Library holds records of church administration during the Commonwealth period which includes some details of ministers (Commonwealth Records; MSS 1643-68). Many individual Anglican provinces publish annual clerical directories and lists, including: Anglican Church in Australia, The Australian Anglican DirectoryFurther information on directories of the Anglican provinces can be found in Crockford's.
Many dioceses of the Anglican Churches
overseas also issue directories and yearbooks. There are also compilations on
the clergy of individual dioceses, many of which are held at Lambeth. For
further details, search the
online catalogue for more information,
using the name of the parish as the subject, corporate author and/or keyword.
9. POSTSCRIPT The previous sections describe the most likely sources for clerical biographical information at Lambeth, but almost any area of the Library's holdings might include biographical information on Anglican clerics, depending on their interests and career. For example: Ecclesiastical court cases (Court of Arches
records; published cases) |